by Penny Blake

Soup Of The Day: With Bellabeth

Hello! Mrs Albert Baker here, otherwise known as The Last Witch Of Pendle. Obviously there is no Pendle any more, since The Chronic Agronauts utterly destroyed it with treacle and sprats, but I’ve set myself up quite nicely here in Lancaster, running this little soup kitchen for the street urchins. There certainly are a lot of them and I’m always looking for helping hands to cook up and serve something delicious!

Well, did you know that today is Austrian independence day? And coincidentally I have talented Austrian youtuber, musician and songwriter Bellabeth with me in the kitchen today! You may have heard her  fun and fabulous version of the spoons song featured last week on our Monday Morning Cuppa. Good morning Bella, thankyou so much for coming to help me in my soup kitchen today! Tell me, have you brought along some soup to share with us?

 “Pancake soup or Frittatensuppe”  is a very traditional Austrian soup and probably my favourite – though we have a lot of good soups, so it was hard to choose!”

__a-pancake_soup3

Mmm, it smells delicious, what a wonderful recipe! Now while that is simmering away nicely, why don’t you tell us all a little more about your music, have you always wanted to be a musician?

“Yes, ever since I can remember I’ve been fascinated by music and dreamed of being a musician one day. I’d had recorder and piano lessons for about 10 years each and have always chosen musical branches in school when I had the choice. I’ve annoyed the people around me a lot by non-stop singing constantly. And I do mean constantly. It drives people crazy, believe me.”

You have a wonderful voice, I can’t believe you drive anyone crazy with it! What inspires or influences you most when you’re composing?

“When it comes to coming up with lyrics: Mostly my own experiences, especially in my older songs. Listening to songs I enjoy also inspires me tremendously to write new songs – it just gets you in the mood to be creative. Sometimes I may think of a melody while cooking or when I’m about to fall asleep – then it’s important that I find my phone quickly enough to record those ideas, otherwise I forget them.”

You’ve worked on some exciting projects, which ones have been your favourites?

“Whenever I’ve worked with HolFix – a young producer from Sweden – I’ve always been very happy with the process and the results (Eg. “Pretty Lady in Black”), as he’s a very talented producer and very nice guy. Also my recent collaboration with Spiros Maus on his Armada Named Sound album “Electronica” has been a highlight, as his songwriting and producing is very exceptional and thoughtful.”

And do you have any new projects or releases planned before the end of the year?

“Within the next two weeks I’m going to publish a very interesting cover of “Still Alive” from the game “Portal” – it’s in a much darker sounding minor key than the original and it’s gonna be accompanied by a very spooky live version video. I could pretend it’s gonna be spooky because of Halloween but if I’m honest, I would have made it a creepy video either way – it just fits the atmosphere of the song.”

We will certainly look out for that release it sounds very exciting! And now the all important question which inspires you more when you’re making music, coffee or tea? 

“Even though I used to drink more tea than coffee when I lived in England I have to say: coffee with milk and two sugars.”

And have you got a song you would like to share with us before we serve up this lovely soup?

“Sure, this is a live version of one of the songs from the album “Electronica” that I mentioned earlier.

 

That was wonderful Bella and thank you so much for coming to help out in the soup kitchen today it’s been lovelyto chat with you and your music has certainly cheered our little urchins up! That pancake soup smells delicious so shall we start dishing it up?

Well while Bella dishes up her lovely soup to our hungry hoard there is just time for me to say goodbye, Max and Collin will be back in the parlour tomorrow with some terrifying Tea @ Three and Perilous Wight will be sharing some Frightful Fiction on Friday from his Lovely Library, I will be back in the kitchen next week with Steampunk author Heather White so, until then

Blessings on your brew my dears

Leave a Reply

