by Penny Blake

Morning Cuppa: The Gentleman Devil

Good Morning Ladies and Gentlemen and welcome once again to Max and Collin’s splendidly Siberian – themed parlour located within the spectacularly frosted-over city of Lancaster.

True, some have called it a frigid flophouse belonging to chilling individuals whom you would not wish to meet down a dark alley, but we consider that such people are merely embittered that they have not yet received an invitation.

You find me this morning feeling a little foolish, a little sorry for myself and a little disappointed that ice skating isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Certainly ice skating with tentacles is not a thing I shall ever be attempting again. I’m afraid I got a little over excited at the Street Pageant … the masala chai punch…you know…

So here I lie, my tentacles in splints, attempting to suck chips of frozen tea through a straw while Max reads to me and the cats do their best to irritate me to distraction. Mrs B has kindly made up some foul smelling brown goo to rub into my wounds but it does nothing for my pride, I’m afraid; I am a fallen creature indeed….oh do shut up Max I am in no fit state to suffer your dubious wit.

Fortunately our soothing tea this morning is this beautiful Seaside Green Tea from Rosie Lea Tea – a gentle blend of Sencha with sea buckthorn, spearmint and lemon verbena which reminds me of my ocean home and a lesson learned that not all forms of water provide an octopus with his element!

And our book – we have been most eager to get Wizmas out of the way and begin this one! – is the second in the Ingenious Mechanical Devices series by Kara Jorgensen

devil.jpg

It is not often that an Octopus is moved to tears, but Kara Jorgensen has managed it! Young  Immanuel Winter and spiritualist Emmeline Jardine, two extremely different and often conflicting characters,  find their souls bound together by his Mother’s mysterious elixir, and suddenly they are thrown into a terrifying world of conspirators and mad-men.. everyone, it seems, wants the secret that will conquer death. Set comfortably in a Steampunk / Victorian setting this dark paranormal adventure gives us strong and believable characters, a beautiful gay romance side story , plenty of intrigue and a perfectly gripping ride from start to finish. We can’t wait to get our tentacles into the next book in this series.

Now then, let us de-frost our oracular pet and see what its far-seeing tentacles have plucked from the aether for us this morning…

 

 

 

 

Hm, I’m not quite sure how to take that? Is it trying to be amusing or helpful?

Either way it is time for us to say ‘chin chin’ and begin chiselling  out the frozen tea from the pot with our runcibles. We wish you a perfectly dignified morning, where pride and tentacles remain  un-dented, and we invite you back to join us for elevenses tomorrow so, until then please, be always,

utterly yourself.

 

 

Leave a Reply

