by Penny Blake

Soup of the day:Kaydance Heggarty

Hello! Mrs Albert Baker here, I do apologise for my absence the past two weeks, I have been lending my culinary skills to help the orphans of Hopeless Maine and you can read all about my terrifying adventures on that strange gothic island right HERE.

But thankfully I managed to escape and helping me this morning in the soup kitchen is Steampunk crafter Kaydance Heggarty , a very good morning to you, my dear, thank you so much for coming to help me in my soup kitchen today, may I take your hat and coat? I’m afraid the fog is awful again this morning!

Ah yes, a real pea-souper (groans at own joke)

Indeed! Now do please have a seat here by the fire and I will put the kettle on. I hope your journey to our dimension was a good one, you did not encounter any skywaymen in this dreadful fog?

Indeed not, I was most fortunate.  But perhaps you refer to my somewhat dishevelled and ragged appearance? No, no,  please do not concern yourself!  This is just a small disguise to persuade the skywaymen that I’m much too poor to warrant their attention.  Seems to have worked admirably although I must admit the smell emitting from this clothing is a little distracting….

Oh I see! What a marvellous idea! Well now before we take a look at all your lovely trinkets and curios, tell me, have you brought some soup to share with the orphans?

I’ve brought this scrummy vegetarian potato and cheese soup. I came across the recipe on  my travels.  It is absolutely delicious and very filling, I do hope the orphans like it?  http://funnyloveblog.com/2015/02/19/easy-loaded-baked-potato-soup-vegetarian/

Mmm, it smells delicious, I’m sure the little urchins will enjoy it immensely. Now while that is simmering away nicely, why don’t you show me some of your wonderful creations?

Some of these items are already available from my Etsy shop, other items will be coming in the next month or so although already available upon enquiry via my facebook page.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

They really are marvellous, I especially love the tempus fugit necklaces, and the little Nemo’s Nemesis pendants! Have you always been interested in crafting ?

Why thank you, that’s most kind of you.  But to answer your question, crafting was something I enjoyed immensely as a child.  I’m afraid as an adult I let adult concerns consume me and forgot the joy achieved from creating items for oneself.  It was therefore with immense pleasure that I discovered Steampunk and its inherent creativity which reawakened my interest in crafting (although I have moved on somewhat from using toilet rolls and sticky back plastic).

And what attracted you to Steampunk in particular?

I’ve always had a love for Victoriana, particularly Victorian gothic decor and architecture but it wasn’t until my brother pointed out to me that some of my ‘tat’ (as he likes to refer to my various knick knacks) smacked of Steampunk that I ever heard of it.  It was a revelation and I voraciously searched out sources of Steampunk literature, music and fashion.  Then with a little Dutch courage under my belt I took my fate in my hands and joined a local steampunk group.  Serendipitously, I already had a considerable number of rather gorgeous military style jackets and natty little lace up boots which fitted the bill perfectly.  I think steampunk was simply something for which I had been unconsciously searching and once I had discovered it I couldn’t get enough.  The inherent creativity of the genre was simply an added (if rather large) bonus.

I see, and where do you draw your creative inspiration from for each new piece?

Numerous ways, sometimes a phrase will suggest an item such as the Tempus Fugit (Time Flies) necklace, other times I see an item and immediately see the use they can be put to and come up with a name later such as Nemo’s nemises  lockets (incidentally I must point out no Kraken were hurt in the creation of these little lockets).  Usually, it is just trial and error to see what works and what doesn’t.  Often it is just a case of seeing something that catches the eye and thinking I could do that but with ‘this twist’ or ‘that twist’, or ‘can I stick a gauge on that?’  It’s just a different way of bringing the individual components available together in what to my eye is a pleasing manner.

Yes Collin the octopus was a little concerned when he saw those tentacles… so if you do not use live specimens how do you source your materials?

Some of the rarer items are sourced from the black market, other items are scavenged from local establishments that deal in second-hand goods.  Occasionally an item falls off the back of a passing airship (wink wink) but the majority of the constituent items are imported from the Far East via the aethernet.

Oh not to worry my dear your secrets are safe with me, I am certainly no friend of Her Majesty’s Good Folk! Now then, if a customer wanted something particular, do you take custom orders?

Of course, and it has lead to some interesting conversations.  In particular I remember a request for an altitude gauge for a pair of fairy wings and the ensuing conversation as to the relative safe heights at which fairies are able to fly.

And, whilst I currently mostly my jewellery just at markets I always have my tools on hand in case anybody wants to place a ‘special request’.  I am hoping to expand the jewellery range listed on my online shop in the next few months.

Ah, now the kettle is boiled, can I offer you both a hot beverage? What is your poison and how do you take it?

Oh lovely, thank you.  A lovely cup of tea please (English breakfast if you have it?) with a moderate dash of milk.  Mmmm….. lovely.  Look, I’ve brought some Malted Milk with me for us to share.

Here you are, now do tell me, where can we find your work displayed, featured or for sale?

Thank you.  I currently have a little virtual shop under Etsy but as I previously stated I’m also very happy to take orders and enquiries via my facebook page.

https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/HeggartysCurios

https://www.facebook.com/Heggartys-Curios-1716812748557828/

 

Wonderful! Well thank you so much for coming to help out in the soup kitchen today, it’s been wonderful to chat with you and I must say that soup smells delicious. I think it must be about ready and the little urchins have their rosy noses pushed up against the glass in anticipation so shall we start dishing it up?

Oh yes, then I really must dash as I have some urgent orders waiting for me back at my workshop.  But I must say it’s been absolutely lovely to join you today….

Marvellous, thankyou all for joining us in the kitchen today and I hope you will come and visit me again next week,until then,

blessings on your brew my dears!

 

 

2 responses

  1. Beautiful crafts. Just ordered a pendant! So glad you’re back in the soup kitchen and taking care of those dear urchins again x

    Liked by 1 person

    April 5, 2017 at 1:04 pm

    • smithandskarry1

      Thankyou so much Jan! Yes it’s god to be back, Lancaster has its troubles but nothing compared to Hopeless night potatoes! 😉 x

      Liked by 1 person

      April 6, 2017 at 9:04 am

Leave a Reply

