by Penny Blake

Morning Cuppa: When We Are Vanished

Good Morning Ladies and Gentlemen, welcome back to Max and Collin’s exuberantly ostentatious and divinely deliquescent parlour located within the splendidly scenic city of Lancaster.

True, some have called it a cracked pot, inhabited only by the dregs of society’s teacup but we consider that such people are merely embittered that they have not yet received an invitation.

You find me all alone this morning, my Very Quiet Gentleman Friend having dressed himself as a Gypsy Queen and set himself down at the docks in an attempt to earn some rent money… Hm? What’s that you say? Oh no, nothing like that, he is attempting to sell all those flower remedies we made last week…. Hm? Then why does he have to dress as a woman? …. I… well, that is I…. look, I’m sure Max has his reasons for doing the things he does, I just don’t always have the stamina to enquire.

Whatever the case, I hope you will join me for a criminally delightful cup full of Moriar-Tea from Cottage Botanicals, inspired by Conan Doyle’s arch villain, and stay and take a peek at the marvellous book I am reading, which this morning is

vanished

 

You may already be in love with Nimue Brown’s acts of Steampunk Splendidness, you may have been seduced by the uncanny wisdom of her books on Druidry and Paganism… but did you know she is also the queen of Magic Realism?

In a world not so different from our own, a vigilante group of techies have shut down all the computer systems on the planet in an attempt to put an end to the war and destruction orchestrated by technology. But where there’s a will, there will always be a way and a new ‘cellulose tech’ has now been developed. But using living plant cells in communications technology leads to some disturbingly sentient systems… and then the people begin to vanish…

This book is for the intelligent, the deep thinking, the ones who like to reach the end of a novel and gasp “oh my I must read that at least a dozen more times until I have absorbed everything it is saying!” There is a cunningly woven mixture of darkness and light, dystopia and paradise, becoming lost and found / discovered and vanished ย which fans of writers like Iain Banks will immediately comprehend and appreciate. A definite must for lovers of dystopian science fiction and magic realism.

Now I suppose I ought to see what our little oracular pet has plucked from the aether for us this morning…

 

Well, there you have it, you could all be taken over by trees much sooner than you think! But I hope you aren’t vanished away too quickly or I shan’t have anyone to talk to. Except Max of course… I wonder how he’s getting on?

I hope you will join us for elevenses tomorrow, until then please, be always,

Utterly Yourself

7 responses

  1. I read a lot of Iain Banks at a formative age, as it happens! Huge thanks for this might moral boost.

    Liked by 1 person

    May 22, 2017 at 10:11 am

    • smithandskarry1

      It shows! And you’re most welcome ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      May 22, 2017 at 10:40 am

  2. Sounds intriguing. Definitely one for the wishlist…

    Liked by 1 person

    May 22, 2017 at 10:58 am

    • smithandskarry1

      I think you’ll really like it Jan, in fact if you haven’t read Nimue’s non-fiction I really think you’ll like her style and subject matter ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      May 22, 2017 at 11:54 am

  3. Eek!
    We are the Ents!
    I was considering putting down roots here, but I think I already have…
    ~Icky. :-/

    Liked by 1 person

    May 22, 2017 at 1:13 pm

    • smithandskarry1

      lol. Have you read Letters Between Gentlemen Icky? It’s by Nimue and Professor Elemental I think it’d be just your cup of tea ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      May 23, 2017 at 12:30 pm

      • No Ma’am, I have not, but I will!
        Y’all be splendid,
        your pal,
        ~Icky. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

        May 23, 2017 at 2:48 pm

Leave a Reply

